In July 2010, the Michigan Legislature passed a law that prohibits drivers from reading, writing and sending text messages while operating a motor vehicle.Violation of this law is a civil infraction and the first offense will result in a $100 fine with subsequent violations costing $200. As is readily apparent for anyone that drives in Michigan,

there are many drivers that continue to text while driving despite the passage of this law. Additionally, I have often seen drivers applying make-up, reading newspapers, and trying to discipline children while driving down the highway. I have had several clients suspect that the driver that caused the accident was texting while driving. In these cases, we can subpoena phone records to determine whether text messages were sent just prior to the accident. To learn more about distracted driving in Michigan – See: